Tags

, , ,


I’ve never been fond of the phrase, “Out of the Frying Pan and Into the Fire”, but when the dishounourable Dennis Rehberg (That’s Dennis, not Denny) is running for senate, and his seat is poised to be taken, and one of the candidates is a former Klansman, and a proud one at that… Well, it’s safe to say I wish Dennis had stayed put, and not just because I adore John Tester.

The weirdest part of this story though, is that compared to his other Republican peers, the Klansman sounds categorically less irrational and awful on certain issues:

Despite running as a Republican, parts of Abarr’s platform seem to stray from the party’s social platform. He supports a woman’s right to choose, along with the legalization of marijuana and opposes the death penalty. Abarr also believes the age to join the military should be raised to 21. Economically, he supports a flat income tax, wants to reduce spending and hold the Federal Reserve accountable through an audit.

Silly me. Here I was thinking that Hell would freeze over and the devil would get a job driving the Zamboni for the Leafs before I would agree with a former Klansman on anything. But then he says stuff like this:

 “I just want to raise awareness to the fact that white people are becoming a minority and when that happens we’re going to lose political power and when that happens entitlements are going to increase and white people are going to be carrying a big burden,” Abarr said.

… And I snap back down to earth and remind myself that a rosy future awaits me in British Columbia, where I don’t have to worry about whether my fellow constituents will choose between slightly-less racist and super-duper racist candidate to represent me.

