Tags

, , ,


Serious Trigger Warning for Sexual Assault, Misogyny, Islamophobia, racist/antisemitic/homophobic slurs, and all around fucking awfulness 

Today I found out about a very, very rancid comment left (supposedly, but almost certainly) by Richard Dawkins on a post on PZ Meyers’ blog, Pharyngula, courtesy of Jen of The Blag Hag. Here’s what it said:

Dear Muslima

Stop whining, will you. Yes, yes, I know you had your genitals mutilated with a razor blade, and . . . yawn . . . don’t tell me yet again, I know you aren’t allowed to drive a car, and you can’t leave the house without a male relative, and your husband is allowed to beat you, and you’ll be stoned to death if you commit adultery. But stop whining, will you. Think of the suffering your poor American sisters have to put up with.Only this week I heard of one, she calls herself Skep”chick”, and do you know what happened to her? A man in a hotel elevator invited her back to his room for coffee. I am not exaggerating. He really did. He invited her back to his room for coffee. Of course she said no, and of course he didn’t lay a finger on her, but even so . . .

And you, Muslima, think you have misogyny to complain about! For goodness sake grow up, or at least grow a thicker skin.

Richard

Someone get this man a discus, he’s going for the gold in the Oppression Olympics!
Seriously. Do you have any idea how rancid it is for a 70something white, nondisabled man to erase the sexism and fear of sexual assault Western women, myself included, experience on a daily basis, just because there are more horrid and blatant examples of the long legacy of misogyny happening elsewhere? Did you just really make the long-winded equivalent of “We gave you the vote, now shut up!” Or “Oh, you’re complaining about that? But this is going on! I’m sorry, I can’t be sympathetic to you!”
I’ve seen this before. I’ve had people come onto my blog telling me I should be damn grateful I’m not in an institution, or locked up in a cage, or some other chamber of horror, that I have no business complaining about disablism against autistics because I can talk and go to college.  Same thing when I’ve told stories about my lack of social smarts being used against me as a chance to sexually assault me. How dare I complain, it’s not like it was full-on rape!
Jen’s response is here. My favourite part:
Words matter. You don’t get that because you’ve never been called a cunt, a faggot, a nigger, a kike. You don’t have people constantly explaining that you’re subhuman, or have the intellect of an animal. You don’t have people saying you shouldn’t have rights. You don’t have people constantly sexually harassing you. You don’t live in fear of rape, knowing that one wrong misinterpretation of a couple words could lead down that road.You don’t, because you have fucking privilege.

And you’re not going to “get it” until you sit down and actually put forth the effort. I know you’re a busy man, so here’s a quick little parable on why you currently don’t get it. And if you still don’t get it – which is probably true, since these things take a long time to understand – I will happily sit down with you at TAM and try to explain it. I’m sure lots of other Skeptical ladies will be happy to help me.

If it was Richard Dawkins, then I seriously hope his female supporters in the Atheist/Skeptical movement set him straight, like Jen is doing, or just leave him wallowing in his puddle of arrogance, with nothing to keep him company but money and his smug self-assurance that he’s not oppressing women like those big bad Muslim men are, because he’s clearly one of the good guys, one of the “enlightened” as it were, so he doesn’t ever need to change a thing about the way he thinks about, acts towards, or addresses women.
