Tags

, , ,


When you’ve been a disability advocate as long as I have, you tend to make a lot of friends with a variety of disabilities, some of whom become very close to you and become like family, whom you want to be with you on those oh so big important days.

I have about five different people who are very close friends and wheelchair users, and a cousin who uses a wheelchair. All of them will be invited to my wedding when I start doing the hard-core planning, and I am tearing out my hair over how many venues in Victoria that I thought would be perfect matches for Jaime and I are not wheelchair-friendly, or even accessible period. Places like antique museums, castles, and historic libraries, obviously, while gorgeous and tickling my eyes with beauty, would probably not be accessible, and even ones that are retro-fitted for accessibility are still difficult to navigate.

I’m stubborn though. I keep combing the websites of other venues and planners, hoping to see the lovely blue wheelchair logo that will tell me it’s accessible, and I am repeatedly disappointed when it is not mentioned at all. I would much prefer if they would give a straight-up “yes” or “no”, rather than letting me meander in uncertainty-land.

I’ve  been contemplating whether or not a grassy space, such as the lawn of Hatley Castle, or a beautiful open-door area, or a garden, would be a good alternative. I’m honestly clueless as to how well wheelchairs can handle grass (My cousin does a lot of outdoor activities and I can remember her chair handling grass and hills well, but not all chairs are created equal)

So, any readers with mobility issues: Have you attended weddings before? What can I do to make it as comfortable and accessible for my guests as possible? Are there any other aspects of accessibility I am overlooking that need to be address?

