Tags

, , , ,


If you are able-bodied and neurotypical, I am not going to have any patience for you suggesting that disability rights “have gone too far”.

I heard it the other day when an acquaintance was complaining about her coworker not doing her equal share of the work, and then “pulling out some bullshit disability paperwork that said she didn’t have to do it.” The complainer said that it wasn’t fair because she didn’t even know what the disability was, therefore it wasn’t real. She was obviously just lying.

Taking every particle of patience in my body, I kindly reminded her that, under HIPAA¬†and ADA, the worker didn’t have to disclose the nature of her disability to anyone if she didn’t feel like it. This person snarled that perhaps she was just making it up then, how hard could it be to get a doctor to sign a note that said anything?

Believe me, after fighting a huge uphill battle back in the states to have my disability officially recognized by the university so I could get proper accommodations at classes and my job, I know it’s not easy. Our disabilities are not elaborate schemes to get out of doing “real” work or “the fair share”.

Think twice before you reveal just how little you know. You may think that other people’s disabilities and not being allowed to pry into their privacy is an inconvenience to you, but your arrogance and superior attitude have been inconveniencing disabled people for far longer.

