Tags

, , , , ,


So after about precisely seven seconds of giving it some deep thought, I’ve decided I’m going to go to Geek Girl Con dressed as a Rule 63 Daniel from Amnesia: The Dark Descent. I decided on this because I love that game*, I wanted to have a character whose costume would consist primarily of items I could use again as street clothes (Well, what my kooky fashion sense considers street clothes anyways) I wanted to wear something I would be comfortable in that didn’t impede my ability to walk (I hate high heels) and didn’t mean I always had to be checking for nip slips, and I wanted to be a character that hasn’t been overdone to death.

This suits me quite well. No part of Daniel’s body other than his arm and hand is ever seen on camera in the game, but the generally accepted guidelines of his appearance are dark, medium length brown hair (check) a white collared shirt (check) an olive waistcoat, a dark brown coat, long brown pants, and a 19th century oil lamp. All of which I can easily obtain at thrift stores or on Etsy or Amazon.

So, if you see me walking around holding my lamp at Geek Girl Con, come over and say hi! I just hope I can pull this off on time.

*Don’t play if you are easily scared. I’m dead serious. You will have nightmares for weeks. If you are curious though, here’s a trailer of the gameplay. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

