Tags

, , , ,


I emigrated to Canada for a lot of reasons, but one of the reasons I was proud to choose it as my home country is because of politicians like Jack Layton, former NDP leader, who passed away today at age 61.

He was a champion of progress. He, like no other politician I’d seen before in either Canada or the U.S, ensured that there were quality woman politicians serving, he founded the white ribbon campaign, was a true ally to LGBTQ Canadians, and was never afraid to call out the others (The Liberals, cough) for refusing to stand up for what was right for Canada.

I’m actually crying now. I’ve only cried once before at the death of a politician, and that was Patsy Mink. Canada’s lost a great man. Rest in Peace, Jack. You made this blogger proud to be Canadian.

