Tags

, , , ,


Two days ago, I managed to take the bus to and from Capitol Hill in Seattle, and made it to the Seattle flagship store for Babeland. I bought myself a Gigi vibrator, and I came home smiling, excited for my toy and exceptionally happy with my experience.

My trip was rather brief, since I came in knowing what kind of toy I wanted, but it was very satisfactory. I asked the salesperson to see the Lelo products, asked about which type of lube would be best, inquired about a warranty, all the usual stuff I think about before buying a sex toy. She was very informative, respectful, and didn’t make me feel uncomfortable at all. I also got some nice lube which, she told me, would be refunded if it gave me any sensory issues (It doesn’t) and offered a pamphlet on basic cleaning and upkeep of sex toys, how to use them with a partner, and the best cleaning materials and methods. The exchanges were pleasant, and it wasn’t the usual high pressure sales situation where I am anticipating a load of products I don’t want being pushed on me. It was as perfect of a trip to a sex toy store as you can expect.

If you live in Seattle or New York, Babeland is a great stop for information, toys, and a non-intimidating, fun atmosphere. They go out of their way to be welcoming (The rainbow flag outside was a nice visual cue) and the stock of sex products is breathtaking for such a tiny space.

As for the Gigi itself, it’s proving to be an excellent purchase. Just keep in mind if you have big hands, like I do, that it can be a bit tricky to hold onto without accidentally mashing the buttons and screwing up your rhythm, but that’s the only downside to an otherwise excellent toy. G-d bless Sweden and Babeland.

