Tags

, , , , ,


Courtesy of The Advocate:

Not only have Karen-Marie and Andrina Perry been married for three years, they also live together and have the same last name. Yet on a recent trip to the United States, the women were instructed to fill out separate customs forms because they are not recognized as a family in America.

Ah yes, that ever-so solid concept of “the family”. You know, the one that has been dynamic since the beginning of humankind, has no set definition from culture-to-culture, that family.

I’ve filled out so many of those forms on my way in and out of Canada that I could do it in my sleep. They don’t specify “married heterosexual family” anywhere on it. Why they decided to suddenly arbitrarily define it as such is beyond me, but if they did, this is proof that immigration and queer activist groups need to put more effort on equality at the border, and passing laws to ensure whether or not you are recognized as a family can arbitrarily change depending on the mood of the border guards. Social attitudes can only do so much to protect people from bigotry, and if there are no laws on the books preventing said discrimination, many travelling queer couples will be helpless or bullied. This is unacceptable.

When Jaime and I get married, we will most likely travel to the United States frequently, since I have family there and like to visit my mother in Hawaii and my sister in Washington. Flying is already a nightmare for two autistics who are sensitive to loud noises, crowds, and being touched, but this would be the icing on the shitcake if we were humiliated like this while trying to travel.

 

