Tags

, , ,


I found this list on a parenting website on how to teach your child to accept other children with disabilities. I found the list to be very interesting, and I was pleased by the attitude in it. I’ve seen a lot of kids be curious about certain physical disabilities where assistance equipment is used, but the parents are terrified of being seen as rude to the disabled person, so they yell at their kids not to stare or ask questions.

This isn’t the right attitude. It just plants the seed of teaching kids to behave like their parents do, and eventually cultivates discomfort towards the disabled which lasts a lifetime. I’ve even seen people get up and move away on the bus and train when a visibly disabled person sits near them, because they’re unsure as to how to interact with them. This list is a refreshing change on that, and I hope many parents read this.

What makes me happiest though is knowing that ghettoizing disabled kids in special education is falling out of fashion. Everybody benefits from the classroom being diverse, the disabled kids don’t feel excluded, and the neurotypical/able bodied kids get the chance to realize humans aren’t made in a standard mould that’s one size fits all.

