Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


So I was reading and clucking in horror about what horrible monsters people can be on this story about an internet troll who had serious issues with taking pleasure in the pain and grief of others, when I am confronted with these quotes in the story:

The court heard that Duffy has Asperger’s syndrome and lived a “miserable existence” drinking alcohol alone at his home in Reading.
She said his condition meant he was not aware of the effect he was having on his victims.

*Twitch*

What an absolute load of urchin’s gonads. I could feel tingling when I read this story about something not being right, but I attributed that to the “Yuck, what a horrible human being” feelings I was getting, and wondering whether the reaction was a bit over-the top in terms of it being a freedom of speech issue. But no, it was my usual “Please, don’t let him be one of us” tingling that I get whenever someone with symptoms of AS ends up doing something reprehensible and making a splash in the news.

But let me explain why, in fact, Mr. Duffy’s autism is not a suitable defense in this case. And I promise it will go beyond, “I have autism and I don’t take joy in the pain and suffering of grieving people”.

There seems to be this pervasive myth that autistic people cannot relate to the emotions and feelings of other people. No, that is not the attitude of someone with autism. That is what a sociopath is like, not an autistic, they are not the same thing (Though Mr. Duffy here proves they are not mutually exclusive) Most autistics are perfectly capable of understanding the distress and pain of other people, we just don’t express it the same way that most people do, or may miss out on a person feeling pain or anguish because they misunderstand the signals, or don’t understand unless the person says very clearly, “I’m upset because of XYZ”.

That’s not what happened here.  Regardless of whether you have Asperger Syndrome, are completely socially clueless, or raised under a rock, it is common enough knowledge that the type of behaviour he exhibited is not acceptable for a mourning ritual. Even if there were a slight chance that he was unaware of the grave nature of his cruelty, I’m 100% sure the feedback he would have received on that would have reminded him of it. He knew what he was doing was wrong, that it was distressing people, and causing them emotional anguish, he just didn’t care, he prioritized his own amusement and getting the negative attention over their considerations.

This defence therefore isn’t just lazy and poorly researched on the nature of autism, it’s dangerous. Each time something like this happens, it jeopardizes the ability of tens of thousands of openly autistic adults who are not sociopathic creeps to lead healthy, normal lives among their non autistic peers, because they have to field ignorant questions from their coworkers, friends, and acquaintances about Asperger Syndrome 101, and explain that they are in no way like that awful man.

I should know, I’ve done it repeatedly. There’s no law that says that we have to disclose our disabilities, but guess what, most of us cannot effectively “pass” and it comes out sooner or later. I’d appreciate that when it does, it doesn’t mean people I associate with will automatically have the wrong idea about me because a lazy defence attorney and an irresponsible news media jumped on this.

Duffy may lead a miserable experience, which may have contributed to him being an irredeemable troll, but you know what makes me have a miserable experience? People looking for a quick scapegoat and using his disability that I share with him to absolve him of any responsibility for his actions. Keep this in mind the next time there’s a criminal who just happens to have Asperger Syndrome hitting the news.

 

