Tags

, , , ,


One of the most tragic things about losing Lappy for me was all of the fiction that got lost along with it. Many of my poems, short stories, essays, and semi-completed novels were forever misplaced by the short-circuiting, though I am hoping a chunk of them were saved when I had lappy put through a toaster (not the kind that makes bread crisp, mind you) to get some files extracted from the hard drive.

But I am not going to spend too long mourning the lost stories; instead I am going to put my creative energy into creating something new. So I have decided that this coming November, I am going to do something I’ve never done before and participate in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month)I’m going to use it as a springboard for starting a completely new project, a novel obviously. I naturally don’t expect to finish a novel in a single month of writing, even if I cranked it up to impressive Michael Chabon levels of writing (He writes 1,000 words a day, making it a point to write from 10 AM to 3 PM each day, save for Shabbat and the rest of the weekend) but NaNoWriMo is a great month to get started in writing something new and worthwhile.

I’m in the process of dreaming up and scribbling new ideas down. I have a few germs of ones floating in across my mind and catching the light, but nothing has burrowed too deeply into the writer’s side of my personality. My biggest problem as a writer is my personal difficulty with constructing an interesting and original storyline and plot, and incorporating character development. Narration and dialogue are my strong points, but there’s not a lot of fun to be had of characters who espouse witty banter in a static, unchanging set of circumstances.

NaNoWriMo, help me unlock a gem of a storyline and hatch a plot to rock my writing!

