Tomorrow, my first tuition payment is due. Thanks to you, my readers, you wonderful, compassionate people, I have enough money to pay it. I also just got an email on Friday telling me that my application for financial aid from the government of BC, including a disability stipend, was approved, so my financial woes will be over in a heartbeat, and I should, by the end of October, have enough money to not only cover my tuition, but get a new laptop as well. Every single blog post I make, every essay I type, every time I log into moodle, every time I send an email to a professor, I will be reminded that it was all made possible thanks to the generosity of my readers.

In the spirit of my gratitude, I’m now going to give a comprehensive special thanks to everyone who provided a donation, with a special personal message, if applicable. I’m going by online persona name (again if applicable), rather than real name, for the sake of propriety. If I screwed up your name or information in some way, please let me know!

Special Thanks to:

Llama: You gave more than any other donor! Your words and your generosity were the biggest boost of encouragement in the last few days, and I hope to continue to hear from you not as a donor, but as a commenter.

Lindsay: You’ve long been the most amazing autism blogger I’ve known, with your incredible wide range of knowledge and your incredible, intelligent, comprehensive writing. You’re one of the few people I know who who truly deserves the title “polymath”, wear it with pride.

INNA: I don’t know who you are, but you donated such a generous amount it nearly made my eyes bulge. Thanks to you!

Spanish Prof: I’ve admired your writing and comments on Clarissa’s blog for quite a while, though I haven’t commented much on yours (I can be kind of shy on other people’s blogs at first, sorry!) You’re brilliant, and I’m quite humbled you thought enough of me to help me towards my laptop/tuition fundraising.

Helena Seuss: I wish you had a blog of your own here on wordpress, because your comments alone are rich enough to fill the Louvre with my laughter and nodding in enthusiasm. Your “throw in the pot” in your own words filled me with great cheer, because I had no idea you were as generous as you were witty. Thank you!

Thomas: You’ve not only been a great donor, but you’ve been a helpful collaborator as well. Once I get around to regular computer access (the wireless here is iffy!) I’m looking forward to what will without a doubt be an intriguing and thought-provoking paper from you. Thank you for your readership and allyhood.

Ainslee: Again, I don’t know who you are (come forward if you have a commenting alias here!) but I intend to pay back your kindness. Thank you so much.

Clydethecat: You were my first donor, and I’m always glad to read your thoughtful comments and our personal correspondence. Thank you for proving to all naysayers how generous and thoughtful autistic people can truly be.

The Sister: You come from a truly amazing family, first of all. Secondly, I’m humbled and delighted that you thought well enough of me to be so kind, and I hope I can live up to be the type of blogger and person you and your sister have inspired me to be.

And, above all, thanks to:
Clarissa: She made this all possible. With my deeply ingrained stubborn Jewish pride, I didn’t even think about asking other people to help me achieve my fundraising goal for a laptop, and actually didn’t even think much of her asking me if I had a paypal account. Once I found out what she did with that information though, and saw the money flowing in, I nearly started crying. This was easily the nicest thing anyone has ever done for me. It wasn’t just the fact that she organized this, it was the sentiment behind it: She thought my writing and my commenting was good enough to warrant her putting in the effort to make sure I got to do it again regularly as soon as possible. That says a lot about how highly she regards me, and that was a far better feeling than any amount of donations could ever buy.

Now, as a special tribute to all of the above, I am going to give each of you the chance to offer me a topic you want me to write about, and I will do either a single post, or a series on it, depending on how much thought on the subject I can squeeze out. It’s not much, but consider it my thank-you to you. For Clarissa, I’m going to do something of a larger scale: I will, at some point in the not-too-distant future, be organizing a blog-a-thon in her honour: Blogging for 24 hours a day straight in order to raise money for an organization of her choice. More details to come on that as I plan it out and when I actually get my hands on a physical manifestation of this incredible generosity.

I know I must have said this a thousand times already in this post alone, but thank you, everyone. I’m lucky to have such supportive readers and commenters at the heart and centre of my blog.

 

