Tags

, ,


I’m doing a paper right now on my favourite group of historical feminists ever, the Japanese Bluestockings, who founded a magazine of poetry and political criticism towards the end of the Meiji era. Their first issue gave birth to one of my favourite quotations regarding feminist ideology ever, and I thought that I would share it:

“In the beginning, woman was the sun.
An authentic person.
Today, she is the moon.
Living through others.
Reflecting the Brilliance of others…
And now, Bluestocking, a journal created for the first time with the brains and hands of today’s Japanese woman, raises its voice”

Amazing, no?

For those who are curious, the reference to woman being the sun is derived from the Shinto religion. The primary goddess is Amaterasu, the sun deity.

