Tags

, , , , , ,


On dating/social sites like OKCupid, Facebook, etc etc, there are often poll or personality questions which are either for fun and wasting time, or are meant to match your values to someone else’s to see if you’re more or less compatible.

I have an OKCupid account (All of the cool kids at my work have one, I felt like joining them) and it’s been a fun way to get to know people in Victoria, especially those in the queer/poly community, who all seem to have OkCupids as well. It’s quite entertaining, and I won’t deny it’s a bit flattering.

I answered a bunch of personality questions as well, and I’ve been browsing casually through my “matches” on these questions. One of them was a rather insulting and frankly, disturbingly worded question, “Would the world be a better place if people with low IQs were not allowed to reproduce”?

The answer to this question is, of course, “No”, for several reasons. The most obvious one I can think of is that I am pro-choice, and pro-choice goes beyond what people’s usual narrow definition is: I support full bodily autonomy of all people. Reproductive rights are human rights, and they are inalienable, they belong to all of us from birth.

Then of course, there’s the fact that IQ tests are worthless on non-neurotypical people, meaning that the majority of the sufferers under a system like that would be cognitively disabled people, continuing the ugly history of eugenics which should be treated as a historical shame, not something to be emulated.

And finally, IQ-measurable “intelligence”, has no bearing on what type of a parent you will be. I have known parents who were cognitively and intellectually disabled who were wonderful parents, and I’ve known intelligent, well-to-do people who were dreadful parents. It really doesn’t make a difference what your IQ is.

I would think this answer would be obvious enough to anyone who has half an iota of common sense and empathy, but I’ve ended up using this particular question as a barometer of whether or not someone is worth my time socializing with. If they answered “yes”, then I feel no remorse about ignoring them and their messages.

Normally it would take some painful conversations and awkwardness to fish that out of them, but this one means no muss, no fuss. Thanks, OKCupid!

