Tags

, , ,


This is more or less the same as the last instalment in this meme, isn’t it? Oh well, I’ll try to think up something new. Since I focused so much on a book whose main character was most like me during my teen years, perhaps I will shift my gaze towards one character who better embodies the type of person I am now. Seems fair, doesn’t it/

I actually basically answered this before, but I want to answer this one a bit differently: the previous meme asked which characters I relate to, this one is asking who is most like me. Linguistic grapples aside, I think this one asks me to be a bit more honest about what kind of a person I am. That means only one adult character in the canon of classical literature: The Canterbury Tales, while not having a single main character per se, has one character who is quite a bit like myself: The Wife of Bath.

Maybe I’m being a braggart here, but the Wife of Bath is incredible, and I see a great deal of myself in her*: She’s a savvy, creative, and snappy lady, who holds her own among a group of squabbling, opinionated pilgrims from a variety of different backgrounds, and schools them on their antifeminist bullshit in an eloquent, sharp manner. She’s knee deep in the muck of a society which is brimming with antifeminist literature and thought** and still attains a financial, intellectual, and social independence which a great many women today have a difficult time reaching. The Wife of Bath hints at being the ¬†survivor of humiliation, assault, and trauma, so her journey wasn’t a cakewalk, but she never flinches during one of her terrific take-downs of stuffed shirt antifeminists.

Maybe this portion of the meme should have been “book whose main character you wish you were like”…

* My professor of English literature and the humanities, who taught me how to read and speak Middle English and taught a class on The Canterbury Tales, compared me to her. I was flattered, and he was complimentary.

** Antifeminism is, tragically, far older than feminism itself.

