I’ve been having a hard time blogging lately. I still have the fire in my belly which motivates me to interact with and deconstruct the world around me as I see fit, I still react passionately to a variety of stories, news events, and occurrences in my life. I still love to write, still love to interact with my readers and receive comments. If none of that has changed, what caused this sudden creative mental block on blogging which has slowed both my writing and my page views to a trickle? I think I may have finally found the answer.

When I first began blogging, I was exclusively an autism blogger. I had an audience in mind: Nonautistic people who were unfamiliar with autism as I lived and experienced it. As my writing improved and my blogging increased, I lost interested in writing exclusively about autism, I wanted to expand onto other topics about my opinions and experiences. I had a very productive period of blogging after that, because my focus wasn’t on the audience, it was on myself and my thoughts.

Recently though, I’d been questioning that approach, and wondering just how much consideration I owe my audience, not just in what I choose to write about, but how I express it. I became concerned that I was becoming more diluted as a writer, and that I wasn’t giving my readers what they came here for, that my writing style wasn’t accessible enough, that I wasn’t interesting enough, that I was too frivolous in my topic choices. So I toned down, and then slowed down, until my blogging came not to a screeching halt, but to a sluggish, meandering still.

I’m quite done with it. To counter with that navel-gazing which has been killing my creativity and expression, I’ve decided to try an approach to writing which I’ve dubbed “Larry David style blogging.” For those unfamiliar, Larry David is one of the creators of Seinfeld and the man behind Curb Your Enthusiasm. Both shows are comedic pioneering in that rather than focusing on a particularly meaningful or singular topic of thought, they go with whatever fancy flights of thought cross David’s mind. He wants to spend five minutes having a debate with himself about whether yoghurt and yoga have a common linguistic family because they are both healthy things prefixed with “yo”? He’ll do that and it will be hilarious. It’s my way of saying “I don’t care if this topic is relevant to autism, if I’m using the correct terminology, or if I’m premature to the discussion or too late. I’ll still write.”

I find honestly, so far, that in my mini experiments with Larry David style, that my writing quality significantly improves. If I focus too intensely on one topic at a time or only discuss one theme, my responses begin to decay, become unoriginal, or get weighed down unnecessarily with past self-reference and jargon. I’m cleaning up.

