Tags

, , ,


Stolen from Voxcorvegis, here’s a nice end-of-the-year meme to fill out.

1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?

Planned a protest all by myself, worked not one, but two jobs, joined a union, lightly experimented with some *ahem* party substances, had a one-night stand, jumped off of Black Rock,  read some of my poetry at a public reading, served as an elected official, went clubbing and enjoyed myself, participated in a photo shoot, read entire novels in a language other than English.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Last year, I resolved to take the LSATs, grow my hair down to my shoulders, put together an application for grad school/law school, learn to cook my favourite recipes, start taking yoga classes, and have fun during spring break and summer. I didn’t do any of the ones related to law school/grad school, and didn’t ever take a yoga class, but I did learn to cook my favourite recipes and have fun during the spring and summer breaks. This year, I am paraphrasing Neil Gaiman for my Ney Year’s Resolution: “Read some fine books and kiss someone who thinks you’re wonderful, and make some art — write, draw, build, sing and live as only you can.” 🙂

3. How will you be spending New Year’s Eve?
I will be spending it with Dion. It will probably involve champagne and tomfoolery.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Professor West and my dear friend Nicky Gray. Rest in Power to them both.

5. What countries did you visit?

Just the U.S, alas. I need to travel more.

6. What would you like to have in 2013 that you lacked in 2012?

Peace of mind, stability, a steady supply of sex, the chance to travel and explore and fill up the stamp card portion of my passport.

7. What date from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

December 21st, the day all of my organizing for IdleNoMore came to fruition. August 1st, the day I fell into the deepest despair and had to make a very painful 3 AM phone call. September 1st, for being the best birthday ever.

8. What was your biggest achievement(s) of the year?

Coordinating a flash round dance protest at the Bay Centre which crew 400+ people.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Getting a “C+” in Japanese, meaning I have to retake the course this spring, not making more of an effort to have a smooth break-up with Jaime.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Depression, anxiety, a swollen, sore foot, and at the moment, an upper-respiratory infection.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

A laptop, with the generous funding of Clarissa and her wonderful readership and mine.

12. Where did most of your money go?

Rent, university tuition, food, and helping my mom during some financial tight spots.

13. What song will always remind you of 2012?

Several will, actually. Magnetic Fields’ Infatuation (With Your Gyration), Diamond Rings’ I’m Just Me, St. Etienne’s Sylvie, and a few others. This year was a good year for musical memories.

14. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Enjoying myself, going for walks, spending time by myself, reading for pleasure, blogging.

15. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Endlessly refreshing Tumblr, prolonging the inevitable, spending time taking care of other people’s emotional troubles while letting mine fester, obsessing over someone who I knew deep down would never love me back, reading the comments on online articles.

16. What was your favourite TV program?

Adventure Time. 

17. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Oh dear, yes. My former landlady, and a horrid little creature who is worth more pity than hatred, but who still gets on my nerves.

18. What was the best book you read?

Many, actually. In fiction- Cinnamon Gardens, Just KidsThe Night Circus, Sputnik Sweetheart, for nonfiction, The Birth of Biopolitics, Methods and Nations: Cultural Governance and the Indigenous Subject, Making Space for Indigenous Feminism, and What I Walk About When I Talk About Running.

19. What was your greatest musical discovery?

This was a good year for music. Stars, A Tribe Called Red, BlackFire, Diamond Rings, Métis Fiddler Quartet, Native Sun, Leela Gilday, Katie Melua, The Civil Wars, My Brightest Diamond, and Firehorse would have to be my top though.

20. What was your favourite film of this year?

Skyfall. Mmmm, Q.

21. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I was 23. I went to Montana’s Cookhouse, because Olivia and her sister were visiting, and I wanted to amuse them by showing off Canadian concepts of what Montana looks like, and about 20 of my friends showed up to drink, sing, and doodle on the tables in crayon. Brennan also snapped a photo of me in a viking helmet, which is still one of my favourite pictures of me.

22. What kept you sane?

Spending time with my friends, my hitachi magic wand, late-night Facebook conversations, sporadic but meaningful Skype conversations, and long walks with nothing but my iPod for company.

23. Who did you miss?

My Montana friends, especially Megan and Olivia. My Hawaii friends.

24. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned.

Listen to your friends when they tell you somebody is wrong for you, chances are, they are right and see something you’re missing. You find out who you really trust when you make a frantic 3 AM phone call. If you don’t define yourself for yourself, you’ll be crunched into other people’s fantasies and eaten alive (Audre Lorde said that)

25. What does 2013 hold for me?

Hopefully, more friendship, more good books, more new adventures and experiences, a revolution which radically changes the way that Canada treats the Indigenous people and sovereign nations they hold treaties with, more delicious homemade treats, more travel, more tasty wine, more art, more consistent blogging, intellectual growth, and more cuddles. That’s what I hope for anyways.

